Home>>Africa Atlas>>Southern Africa Map

Printable Africa Map Collection

List of Southern African Development Community (SADC) Members

Southern Africa Map

List of Africa Countries Maps

Southern Africa is the southernmost region of the African continent, variably defined by geography or geopolitics. Within the region are numerous territories, including the Republic of South Africa (a successor country to the Union of South Africa); nowadays, the simpler term South Africa is generally reserved for the country in English.

In the UN scheme of geographic regions, five countries constitute Southern Africa:Botswana, Lesotho,Namibia,South Africa,Swaziland.

The Southern African Customs Union (SACU), created in 1969, also comprises the five countries in the UN subregion of Southern Africa.

The terrain of Southern Africa is varied, ranging from forest and grasslands to deserts. The region has both low-lying coastal areas, and mountains.

In terms of natural resources, the region has the world's largest resources of platinum and the platinum group elements, chromium, vanadium, and cobalt, as well as uranium, gold, titanium, iron and diamonds