Home>>Africa Atlas>>Tanzania Atlas>>Tanzania Political Map

Tanzania Political Map

Tanzania Map   Google Tanzania Map   Tanzania Weather Map  Tanzania Topography Map  Tanzania National Parks Map

Tanzania is divided into 26 regions (mkoa), 21 on the mainland and five in Zanzibar (three on Unguja, two on Pemba). Ninety-nine districts (wilaya), each with at least one council, have been created to further increase local authority; the councils are also known as local government authorities. There are 114 councils operating in 99 districts; 22 are urban and 92 are rural. The 22 urban units are further classified as city councils (Dar es Salaam and Mwanza), municipal councils (Arusha, Dodoma, Iringa, Kilimanjaro, Mbeya, Morogoro, Shinyanga, Tabora, and Tanga) or town councils (the remaining eleven communities).

Tanzania's regions are: Arusha, Dar es Salaam , Dodoma , Iringa กค Kagera , Kigoma , Kilimanjaro , Lindi , Manyara , Mara , Mbeya , Morogoro , Mtwara , Mwanza , Pemba North , Pemba South , Pwani , Rukwa , Ruvuma , Shinyanga , Singida , Tabora , Tanga , Zanzibar Central/South , Zanzibar North , Zanzibar Urban/West