Home>>World Atlas>>World Map for Kids

World Map for Kids ( Click the map to enlarge it! )

World Map for Kids

There are seven continents on earth - Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America. Most students in the United States are taught that there are seven continents.

Many scientists now refer to six continents, where Europe and Asia are combined (since they're one solid geologic landmass). Thus, these six continents are Africa, Antarctica, Australia, Eurasia, North America, and South America.

In Europe and other parts of the world, many students are taught of six continents, where North and South America are combined to form a single continent of America. Thus, these six continents are Africa, America, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, and Europe.

Geographers divide the planet into regions, and generally not continents, for ease of study. Various geographers have various definitions of these world regions. This Official Listing of Countries by Region divides the world into eight regions: Asia, the Middle East and North Africa, Europe, North America, Central America and the Caribbean, South America, Africa, and Australia and Oceania.

How many countries in the world

There are 195 countries in the world (this answer originally included #68 Greenland which is actually part of Denmark. Soon Southern Sudan will separate from Sudan and become the world's 196th Nation).

There are only 192 countries that are members of the United Nations. Unfortunately, the number 192 is too often used to represent the number of countries in the world.